The Administration block provides context-sensitive links to settings within your course.


Rename a course


A course within UR Courses can be renamed at any time if you are able to edit the course content.

Enrolment is based on the Course ID number, which is not editable, so changes to the course name will have no effect on enrolment.

To rename a course within UR Courses, please follow these steps:

  1. Within your course, locate the Administration block, usually found in the column on the left, and under Course Administration click Edit Settings. Admin Edit Settings
  2. On the Edit course settings page, change the name of the course as desired within the Course full name field. This is the title of the course displayed on the Dashboard and at the top of each course page. Course Rename
  3. The Course short name can also be changed, although it must be unique. The short name of the course is displayed in the navigation and is used in the subject line of all email messages associated with the course.
  4. Once you are ready, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Save and display. Save And Display


Control course availability for students


A course within UR Courses can be made availabe or unavailable to students at any time if you are able to edit the course settings. This can be useful if enrolment is to occur prior to the course content being ready for students, or if you want to prevent access to the entire course for certain periods of time.

To change the availability of a course within UR Courses, please follow these steps:

  1. Within your course, locate the Administration block, usually found in the column on the left, and under Course Administration click Edit Settings. Admin Edit Settings
  2. On the Edit course settings page, change the Visible setting to Show or Hide as desired. Show means the course will be available to students, and Hide indicates it will be hidden from them. Course Visible
  3. Once you have made your changes, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Save and display. Save And Display


Assigning Roles & Adding TA’s


When you have the Teacher or Instructional Designer role within UR Courses, you are able to assign roles to other users within the same course. There are 4 roles to choose from:

  • Instructional Designer – same capabilities as the Teacher role (full access to the course, including creating or editing content, resources, and activities, and grading), except they are not listed as teaching the course.
  • Non-editing Teacher – can teach in courses and grade students, can see items that are hidden, but may not add, remove, or alter content, resources, or activities. Can view all group activities.
  • Student – can view visible resources on the course page and participate in activities, but cannot alter resources or activities, cannot see grades for anyone but self. If groups are used, can access information in own group.
  • Invited Guest – the same capabilities as a student, but Invited Guests will not show up in the gradebook.

To add someone to the course and assign a role:

  1. Within the Administration block, expand the Course Administration and Users sub-menu by clicking the triangles. Select Enrolled users. Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  2. Click on the Enrol users button to find members to assign a role. Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  3. Within the Assign roles dialog, choose the role you want the individual to have from the menu near the top. In order to add a TA to the course, we're going to select the Non-editing Teacher role.
Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  1. Use the Search field to find the individual you are looking for. Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  2. Once you've found that individual, make sure the correct role has been selected and click on Enrol. Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  3. Once you’ve clicked Enrol, the individual will now appear within the list of enrolled users and be a participant in the course with the selected role. Once you are finished assigning roles, click the Finish enrolling users button to close the dialog. Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses

To assign a role to someone already in the course:

  1. Within the Administration block, expand the Course Administration and Users sub-menu by clicking the triangles. Select Enrolled users.\ Screenshot: Overview of the My Media area within UR Courses
  2. Scroll down the list of enrolled users to find the one whose role you want to change.
  3. Click the Assign roles button beside that user in the Roles column.
  4. Click the button for the role you wish to assign.
  5. If you wish to remove a role that was added manually, you can click the X beside the student to unassign it. Student role cannot be removed from users added through External database enrolment.


Create a course backup


A course backup can be made within UR Courses at any time if you are able to edit the course content. This can be useful to preserve an instance of the course or to ensure that the course can be restored to a certain point in time.

Information services will retain a course backup for six months after the end of the semester the course was last delivered. To ensure you have a copy of your course, it is advised to make your own personal backups before and after making major changes to your course.

To create a backup of a course within UR Courses, please follow these steps:

  1. Within your course, locate the Administration block, usually found in the column on the left, and under Course Administration click Backup. Course backup
  2. On the first Backup settings page, 1. Initial settings, select the desired options to include within this backup.

    Course backup

    The IMS Common Cartridge 1.1 setting is only required if you intend to restore this course within a system other than UR Courses that also supports the IMS Common Cartridge 1.1 format.

  3. If you wish this backup to include only a subset of course elements, or to further review what will be backed up, click Next. To skip this and continue to backup the entire course, select Jump to final step. Course backup action buttons