Users can receive message alerts for a number of different reasons and can also send and receive instant messages. How a user receives notification of incoming messages can be set by clicking Preferencess in the top menu with your name and profile picture, and finally click Notification Preferences.
This brings up a screen with check boxes where users can choose how they wish to be notified both when logged in and logged out. They can choose between a pop up or an email by selecting the appropriate checkboxes.
When a user is logged into UR Courses, the message will pop up from the bottom right corner of the page. The user can choose to read the message immediately or to ignore it. If they choose to ignore it, the message remains until it is read.
If a user is offline, all notifications will be sent to the student’s @uregina.ca email account, depending on the selected notification settings.